If Your Life Was A Movie, What Would The Soundtrack Be?

Susan posted this and I thought I'd give it a try.  She says that it came from Know It All and thanks them for "this 'easy' and fun Meme."  I expected more Christmas songs since I really purged lots of music for the current season.  Oh well…

IF YOUR LIFE WAS A MOVIE, WHAT WOULD THE SOUNDTRACK BE?
1. Open your library (iTunes, Winamp, Media Player, iPod, etc)
2. Put it on shuffle
3. Press play
4. For every question, type the song that's playing
5. When you go to a new question, press the next button
6. Don't lie and try to pretend you're cool – first songs only

Opening Credits

Southbound Flight – Newsong -  from the album Christmas Hope  (I don't own this album but just the song)

Waking Up

Silent Night - Larnelle Harris – from the album Christmas with Larnelle  (Can you say, "Oldie but a goodie!)

First Day at School 

Always on His Mind – Misty Edwards – from the album Always On His Mind  (I love most of this album!)

Falling in Love

T-Shirts (What We Should Be Known For) - Derek Webb – I See Things Upside Down

Fight Song

I Am Yours - Terry Clark

Breaking Up

Spontaneous V – Delerious? – from the album Live and In The Can

Prom

Watch What Happens - Ray Anthony – from the album Swing Back to the 40's (I feel that I lucked out on this one falling here.  My greater memories of school dances 1979-1980 was more like music from the group Chicago or the song, "Knights In White Satin" (which, by the way, I think is totally stupid to offer for a slow dance.  Still, it was my first slow dance.)

Life is Good

Man of the Tombs - Bob Bennett – from the album The View from Here

Mental Breakdown

Lady Slippers – Phil Keaggy – from the album Lights of Madrid

Driving

I've Found Jesus - Delerious? –  from the album Deeper: the D:finitive Worship Expierience (Disc 1)

Flashback

This Is Love - Vineyard – from the album Why We Worship:  Intimacy  (I was hoping a true flashback would pop up.  I've got tons of them on my iPod.)

Getting Back Together

Before Barbed Wire - George Winston – from the album Plains (That's funny…to me.)

Wedding

We Gather Together – Philip Aaberg – from the album Thanksgiving – A Windham Hills Collection

Paying the Dues

Chasing the Wind – Chicago -  The Very Best Of Chicago – Only The Beginning [Disc 2]

The Night Before The War

Daughters of the Holy One – Bridgeway Artists – Prayers and Worship Volume 2

Final Battle

Interlude – Michael Card – from the album Unveiled Hope  and while I was still typing  Under the Grace – Phil Keaggy – from the album Phil Keaggy

Moment of Triumph

I Really Love You - Kevin Prosch – from the album Reckless Mercy  (Turns out that THIS one really reflects the view of my personal triumph.)  

Death Scene

Kiss Me - Sixpence None the Richer – from the album Sixpence None The Richer (Please don't play this at my funeral…I don't like it.  ::::note to self:  unselect "Kiss Me" on iPod:::::)

Funeral Song

We Build – Nichole Nordeman – from the album Brave  (Super melancholy about life…I suppose if you don't ask me you could use this song…but it is about community and togetherness in the journey.)

End Credits

Shine In The Darkness - Vineyard – from the album Prayer: Expressions of Worship ("Arise, O God, with healing in Your wings.  Arise, O God, with healing in Your wings.  Because of Your tender mercy, Son of Righteousness arise with healing in Your wings.  Because of Your tender mercy, let the rising Son come down to us from heaven and shine…shine in the darkness… )

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

6 thoughts on “If Your Life Was A Movie, What Would The Soundtrack Be?

  1. OK, are you my twin and we were separated at birth?? We have very similar taste in music. Unfortunately I haven't saved that many of my Christian CD's to my hard drive (no Ipod here…just Windows Media Player, Itunes, etc).so if I did this exercise you wouldn't really be able to tell, But I'm a former worship leader / Minister of Music so I'm very familiar with a lot of these artists. Larnelle Harris…A friend and I used to do a L.H & Sandi Patty duet for church services often. Can't remember the name, maybe "We Shall Behold Him" (my ministry heyday was '91-'00). Good memories. Thanks for this 😀

  2. Hey, Anita. Yes, I said "Bob Bennett." I actually love the guy. I think I've got a song of his posted in my audio. "Lord of the Past?" It is a testimony for me….as is "Man of the Tombs." I also like Carpenter Gone Bad but I can't remember Night Shift at the moment. I'll meditate on that one. Maybe I just need to be refreshed.

  3. Night Shift is a sad song with many minor chords and with a cheerful melody. The music reflects the lives duality of the people at a bar. They are happy and having fun, but under the exterior they are discontent.

Leave a Reply

