Guilty Pleasures #1 – Monty Python

I've decided to register a few of my guilty pleasures as a confession….and I hope that my neighborhood can tolerate the subjects of my guilt.  The first I will register is Monty Python.  This is made more enjoyable because people have actually posted some of the skits out on YouTube.  So, enjoy!

 

 

LAUNCELOT:  We have the Holy Hand Grenade.
ARTHUR:  Yes, of course!  The Holy Hand Grenade of Antioch!  'Tis
one of the sacred relics Brother Maynard carries with him!  Brother
Maynard! Bring up the Holy Hand Grenade!
     [singing]
     How does it, uh… how does it work?
???:  I know not, my liege.
???:  Consult the Book of Armaments!
MAYNARD:  Armaments, Chapter Two, Verses Nine to Twenty-One.
BROTHER:  "And Saint Atila raised the hand grenade up on high,
saying, 'Oh, Lord, bless this thy hand grenade that with it thou
mayest blow thy enemies to tiny bits, in thy mercy.'  And the Lord
did grin, and people did feast upon the lambs, and sloths, and
carp, and anchovies, and orangutans, and breakfast cereals, and
fruit bats, and large –"
MAYNARD:  Skip a bit, Brother.
BROTHER:  "And the Lord spake, saying, 'First shalt thou take out
the Holy Pin.  Then, shalt thou count to three, no more, no less.
Three shalt be the number thou shalt count, and the number of the
counting shalt be three.  Four shalt thou not count, nor either
count thou two, excepting that thou then proceed to three.  Five is
right out.  Once the number three, being the third number, be
reached, then lobbest thou thy Holy Hand Grenade of Antioch towards
thou foe, who being naughty in my sight, shall snuff it.'"
MAYNARD:  Amen.
ALL:  Amen.
ARTHUR:  Right!  One… two… five!
???:  Three, sir!
ARTHUR:  Three!
     [boom]

 

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

7 thoughts on “Guilty Pleasures #1 – Monty Python

  1. Yeah! Thanks for posting these! Good to see someone else enjoys all the same skits as I do from that movie! Knights who say, "Ni" is famous in my family.

  2. My family doesn't share my enthusiasm for these..neither my best friend and husband. BUT, I've got a couple of friends who can quote alone with me thus making the experience torture for everyone else. Thanks for stopping in EMM. I apreciate your comment.

  3. Your muzzer was a hamster and your fazzer smelt of elderberries!
    I was fortunate enough to see Spamalot when it came to St. Louis, and it was one of the funnest nights I've had at the theatre. People were laughing so hard at the stage production of some of the skits, but there were additions that could have only come from the Monty Python group minds.
    My favorite of the night was their amateurish killer-bunny scene, with a hand puppet. It was a scream.

  4. Oh! Oh! I wish I could've seen it! Sounds perfectly wonderful! I get a yearly fix from an inprov drama group at a New Year's Eve party in our downtown…but Spamalot! Oh, I wish.
    By the by…I was through your area and thought of you. My husband and I spoke at a group in St. Louis and then went from there on into Illinois to see his family.

Leave a Reply

