I Am Your Disease

This was forwarded to me this week and, unlike MOST forwards I receive, it was truly potent.  I offer you this for your consideration as I have taken it for myself and for my consideration.

I Am Your Disease
Author:  Unknown

I hate meetings.
I hate a Higher Power.
To all who come in contact with me, I wish you death and I wish you suffering.

Allow me to introduce myself.
I am the disease of addiction.
Cunning, Baffling, and Powerful!
That's me.

I have killed millions, and I am pleased.
I love to catch you with the element of surprise.
I love pretending I am your friend and lover.
I have given you comfort, have I not?
Wasn't I there when you were lonely?
When you wanted to die, didn't you call me?
I was there.

I love to make you hurt.
I love to make you cry.
And better yet, I love it when I make you so numb, that you can neither hurt nor cry.
You can't feel anything at all.
This for me is true glory.
I will give you instant gratification and all I ask of you is long time suffering.

I've been there for you always.
When things were going right in your life, you invited me.
You said you didn't deserve these good things, and I was the only one who would agree with you.
Together we were able to destroy all things good in your life.

People don't take me seriously.
They take strokes seriously, heart attacks seriously, even diabetes they take seriously.
Fools that they are, they don't know that without my help, these things would not be made possible.
I am such a hated disease, and yet I do not come uninvited.
You choose to have me.

So many have chosen me over reality and peace.
More than you hate me, I hate all of you who have a twelve-step program.
Your programs, your meetings, your Higher Power, all weaken me and I cannot function in the manner I am accustomed to.

Now I must lie here quietly.
You don't see me, but I am here, growing bigger than ever.
When you only exist, I can live.
When you live, I can only exist.
But I am here and until we meet again, if we meet again…wish you death and suffering.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

2 thoughts on “I Am Your Disease

  1. Wow! Powerful! My ex-husband was an alcoholic & DIED of chirrosis at the age of 39. Subsequent boyfriends have been alcoholics, as is a dear girlfriend of mine. I have seen first hand what addiction can do to destroy lives. Not only their own but the lives of the people who love them.

    I have been "relationship free" for 5 yrs. I moved 2 states away from the addicts in my life and, without them around, stopped drinking too. I now have a glass of wine only on holidays….a few times a year. It doesn't even appeal to me anymore. Hallelujah! Thanks for posting this!

Leave a Reply

