Considering Spiritual Abuse

"Of all tyrannies, a tyranny exercised for the good of its victims may be the most oppressive.  It may be better to live under robber barons than under omnipotent moral busybodies.  The robber baron's cruelty may sometimes sleep, his cupidity may at some point be satiated; but those who torment us for our own good will torment us without end for they do so with the approval of their own conscience."  ~ C.S. Lewis from God In The Dock: Essays In Theology and Ethics

This quote did not come from a commentary on spiritual abuse but from an essay on the Humanitarian Theory of Punishment.  This is conjuring images of the benevolent abusers.  I am thinking about closed systems of households, churches and even many bloggers from many backgrounds as I consider this quotation.  I feel it is important to recognize the shaming component I am capable of hefting out on the heads of those I love and want to protect.  It is powerful to consider that it really might be better to be under the greedy tyrant than under the religious tyrant, for example.

As I consider the other belief systems of other bloggers who don't agree with me in the least, I am challenged to consider that their moral mountaintop may not be any less abusive than a religious tyrant's .  I am considering a challenge that is being sent around by Dr.Warren Throckmorton to live the golden rule.  That one rule might change my life.  The truth is, I do live it pretty decisively but I could use better adherence. 

I probably have a lot to say here but I want to post so that my blog doesn't get any more cold than it already is.  I want to affirm that true things apply to us all.  I really hate being called naive or bigoted or hate-mongering or homophobic simply because I am a living testimony that homosexual leanings and attractions are, indeed, redeemable and changeable.  Lots of people really are finding real freedom. 

Thanks for visiting my loose thoughts.

"Do to others as you would have them do to you."  Luke 6:31

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

8 thoughts on “Considering Spiritual Abuse

  1. I've recently considered what it would be like if we were still living under the "original" laws, and the penalty for rebellion, adultry and cursing our parents was still stoning, and an eye for an eye etc. I wonder who would be left? If it weren't for God's great mercy and grace I would have been done in a long time ago.
    So to those who think they have a right to hurl their stones I say "Just a little courtesy please!"

  2. Yeah for Mr. Throckmorton! I would venture out and suggest that the church at large including the American Family Association and other Christian Kern supporters put the "golden rule" to use.
    I read an "alert" today issued by the AFA promoting a "Freedom of Speech Rally for Sally"…this really ticked me off!
    Sure she recieved a vulgar response out of anger from some of those in the community she so verbally judged, but why not stop there!? Why does there have to be such prideful retaliation!?
    Talk about "oppressive tyrannies" and "omnipotent moral busy bodies" ~ Geeze! Lewis sure had some amazing insight, eh?

  3. okay so I think courteous stone throwing might go like this:
    Pride "oh no! Self Righteousness, you go ahead"
    Self Righteousness "but I got to go first last time, you go ahead Belittling, I think it's your turn"
    Prejudice "or maybe we could just count to 3?"
    so forth and so on~ ;o>

  4. Strange thing about it, Mz B is that I've met Rep. Sally Kern and have had a chance to share a great deal with her on one occasion. I also have met and visited with her husband. They are good folks. I have been absolutely offended by the things she has said. I'd love to see a humble retraction and a statement of truth. As it is, she looks pretty bad.Dr. T has a good thing here.

  5. I like that term..Spiritual Abuse…just about the same as Church Abuse…all in the Name of the Father…been there and the reciever of that abuse

Leave a Reply

