A Man Outstanding In His Field

This post was also posted on September 1, 2006.

Outstanding Papa

Outstanding Papa

This is my dad, James Robert Storment.  He was from Iuka, MS in the northeast corner of Mississippi.  “Mississippi” is one of the first “big words” that I learned to spell. We did it a little like this:

Em- eye- crooked-letter crooked-letter eye crooked-letter crooked-letter eye humpback humpback eye

*sigh

…but I digress

He was a young man here….a man outstanding in his field!

eh hum.  that was a joke

Anyway, he’s been gone since 1979 and I was only 17.  Cancer killed him. It killed him bad.

Lately, I am missing him.  I go through this from time to time but my year has been a little difficult emotionally and I wonder what advice he might have offered.  It wasn’t that he was a big advice guy but he was balanced and seemed to be pretty wise.  Plus, I think my temperament was a little more like his.  I don’t know if I’ve developed character equal to his or not.

The day of his funeral I found out that he was popular and that LOTS of people respected him both professionally and as a friend.  I was his kid.  What did I know?

I want to give tribute to some of my memories of him.  I just want to remember him a bit.

So, my dad thought he was a conductor.  Yes, I mean of the orchestral kind.  He would drive down the road with the music going full volume and flail his arms and conduct his auto-orchestra.  He didn’t play an instrument that I know of…but my sister and I can vouch for his mastery of the car keys as an instrument at Christmas.

I have multiple memories of Saturday or Sunday housecleaning with all the doors and windows open, records on the turntable on our console stereo and the attic fan on.  This memory is more of a “feeling” rather than all the details.  I remember how the house felt and sounded and smelled on those days.

We would sit out in the driveway in the car and listen to the Grand Ole Opry on the radio.  We couldn’t get the broadcast in the house.

Summer thunderstorms didn’t send us inside but instead we would pull out the lawn chairs and feel the blast of the storm front as it moved in….hot day…hot, moist air….sudden hot wind…followed by the smell of rain…sounds of thunder….powerful lightening…cool puff of air…then the rain.

I hated doing it but it was my job to help with the yardwork.

I remember my interest in the end times…thoughts about the rapture of the Church…curiosity about the book of Revelation and it was then I found out that my dad actually read the bible and knew about Revelation.  I was astonished but comforted since I was, as the time, the only one in my family going to church.

He said to me when he became really ill:  “Don’t let them put me in the hospital.”  But, I did.  What was I to do?   I was the kid.

I prayed he would be healed like my pastor said…and I tried hard to not “doubt in my heart” and to really, really, really believe.  But, Pop died.  The pastor at the time said that if I had had “enough faith” my dad would have been healed.  I believed this guy for a long time afterward.  THAT guy was careless.

Today, I am comforted to know I’ll see my dad again.  Maybe God will let us sit in a car and listen to the radio.

11 thoughts on “A Man Outstanding In His Field

  1. Sweet Memories, LL ~

    Maybe some of the ol’ performers will perform for you and your dad, someday at Hallelujah Square!

    I’m sorry about that burden your Pastor put on you as a 17 year old. That’s not fair of anyone (not to mention, I don’t believe it’s Biblical).

    At any rate, thanks for bringing us a little further into your world. I agree w/Sherry: this is good!

    Blessings!
    ChaplainChas.

  2. As a Christian, I have a calling to agree with your Pastor. Prayer brings us miracles every day. Perhaps at 17yo you didn’t have enough faith to save your father but I pray you do now.

  3. I’ve read through some of your articals but I’m on blogspot and couldn’t comment. However, I’m looking forward to interacting on your blog as well as continue reading what you have to say.

    Sincerely,
    Janey<

  4. Twana – I appreciate your comment. Regarding having “enough faith” now to save someone from death, I’m not the wavering kind but it seems that I live in a war-filled, fallen world. I pray that OUR faith will turn the heart of the nation. I pray that OUR faith will turn the hearts of the lost. And, so far, my “enough faith” to move mountains doesn’t always happen. Since you focused on that part of the story and wished me a better faith, I thank you. I wonder though…at this time in your life, have you lost anyone you really cared about…and why did you lose them?

    Janey – I look forward to your comments as I get rolling here.

  5. The Bible says that the faith the size of a mustard seed can move mountains. Of course, He commands that we have faith, but God isn’t dependent on our faith, (especially if it’s only the size of a mustard seed). He’s going to do what He wants to do. If all we needed was a whole lotta faith, we wouldn’t even need God.

    Despite all the prayer and faith of his family, God chose to bring Mr. Storment home at that place and that time. Life and death are in His hands, not ours. Not a man’s 17 year old child’s. He is the author of life, not we.

    I’ve been down on my knees before begging for the life of dying people, and though they didn’t make it, the begging was a gift. The last time I begged for someone, I ended up completely surrendering to God’s will, knowing He was completely in charge, which gave me incredible peace. It’s a challange, I admit, to trust His goodness in either taking someone’s life or allowing them to die, however that works, I don’t know. But I am so glad that He is in charge of the universe, and not I.

  6. I came to believe that the Lord is not afraid of all the ways in which my brokenness manifest and so I began this journey of learning to trust in the Lord even when I don’t yet see a complete healing in my own life, even when SSA is still a factor. My journey is less about the removal of SSA and more about encountering the Lord and allowing Him to encounter me in my pain and confusion.

    And that does take faith, the faith to know that the Lord is with me, the faith to know that the Lord heals and the faith to trust in the Lord when things don’t make sense.

    I’ve been thinking about writing a tribute to my mother. She passed away 1980. At the time I was 2. If I start talking about her I’ll end up taking away from my own blog post.

    October 1st would have been my Mother’s 61st Birthday.
    And one thing is for sure, my mother surpassed me a lot with her integrity and faith but she has become one of those in that great cloud of witnesses chearing me on in the faith.

    As it sounds like your father is for you.

  7. So, I had this thought during worship the other night, and it’s been trying to burst right out of me. Surrendering to the will of God takes an INCREDIBLE amount of faith. It does for me, anyway. I’m not talking about throwing out casually or piously the phrase, ‘God’s will be done’. I’m not talking about NOT asking for healing and other things we want or need. I’m talking about really surrendering to His perfect will REGARDING what we need. To trust that God is good AND sovereign. (This is in context to those who insist that those who pray ‘God’s will be done’ do not have faith.)

    Okay, that’s it.

  8. REGARDING THIS POST…I have incorrectly posted the death of my dad as 1978 when, in fact, it is 1979. I hope this correction gives my family some peace.

  9. As you know, I lost my Dad last month and I already miss getting his input, his wisdom, his advise about things. I miss him. I miss just being with him. You have wonderful memories to cherish your whole life. And one day, in the great by and by, I have no doubt you (and I about my Dad) will be with and see your Dad again. What a great comfort in the midst of our ache of missing our loved ones.

  10. Tari S.
    I’m sorry but I can’t get past the pastor telling you you didn’t have enough faith that your father would be healed. What comes to my mind isn’t Biblical = it is based on emotion. My mind screams “How dare he….” I can’t imagine how it must have made you feel. I listen to your mom’s stories about him and know he was a good man and you were blessed by the years you had him. I’m sorry for your loss at such a young age.

Leave a Reply

